4 4 3 Grolar:Disabling and Enabling Backup Task
Up to SEP sesam version 4.4.3 Grolar, it was only possible to deactivate a schedule. If you deselect the Execution option in a schedule, all events that are linked to this schedule will be deactivated. However, you may want to disable only a particular task without deleting it permanently and without cancelling all other events related to the same schedule. A new option Execution is blocked is introduced in the backup task properties allowing you to temporarily disable a task (and enable it again if required).
Execution of a backup task is enabled by default. You can disable a backup task from running for a certain period of time by using Execution is blocked option. When a task is disabled, it will not run on schedule nor can it be run on demand by using the Immediate Start button. A disabled task remains listed in the task list and appears with a special "off" sign in its icon. You can enable a disabled task again at any time by deselecting the Execution is blocked option (see step 2).
- From Main Selection -> Tasks -> By clients, double-click the task you want to disable. The backup task properties window opens.
- Click the check box Execution is blocked to disable execution of the backup task. A dialog box will come up warning you that if you deactivate the task it will not be executed at its appointed times in the schedule(s). Click OK to confirm deactivation of your backup task.
A disabled task keeps all its properties: it remains in the task list, is still assigned to the same schedule(s), and is part of the same task group(s) (if assigned to any). It still appears by its name but has a special "off" sign in its icon.
|Consider disabling a task rather than deleting it whenever you only need to temporarily disable a task. Unlike deleting a task, disabling a task prevents task from running but keeps it available to be easily reactivated again.|
As of 4.4.3 Grolar, you can also disable a task group from running for a certain period of time by selecting Execution is blocked option in the task group properties. For details, see Disabling and Enabling Task Group.